It's why we travel.

Learn More
BaganMist_50253865_FotoliaRF_hero
Hot Deal
Explorations

Discovering Myanmar

The Golden Land

From $2,649* pp |  13  Days •  26  Meals  *Rate is per person, land only, double occupancy, tour inclusions and available options may vary based on departure date.
Please select a date below for more details.

The Golden Land

Immerse yourself in the magic of Myanmar. This fascinating country is home to endless natural beauty and impressive architecture. Its deep history is astounding, and its culture is captivating. Discover the most revered Buddhist temple in Myanmar, the Shwedagon Pagoda. Take a private motorboat on the tranquil Inle Lake and be surrounded by one of Myanmar’s most spectacular panoramas. Observe leg-rowing fisherman and discover their floating gardens. Visit local markets, cottage industries and villages to come face to face with a more traditional way of life. Ascend to a height of over 3,000 feet above sea level to the visit charming Pyin Oo Lwin, a town that blends the East and West. Board a train for a scenic journey across the Gokteik Viaduct and travel over a nearly 100 feet deep gorge. Discover Pindaya Cave, home to more than 8,000 Buddha statues. In Bagan, pause to take in the unforgettable sunset over the plains from the upper terrace of one of the temples. Discover Mt. Popa, an imposing sight of sheer rock topped with golden stupas from the monastery that sits on its peak.

  • Pick Your Dates

    Pick Your Dates

    *Price shown reflects highest available savings amount. Restrictions apply.
    Please Wait...
    We are loading your tour's dates.
    Please Wait...
    and get excited!

    We are currently building the itinerary for the tour date you have selected.

    Scroll For More Dates
  • Reviews Of Discovering Myanmar The Golden Land

    Reviews Of Discovering Myanmar The Golden Land

    Discovering Myanmar The Golden Land

    From $2,649 pp*

    13 Days • 26 Meals

    • THE GOOD AND THE NOT SO GOOD.

      • Service
        TOUR GUIDE WAS GREAT, BUT THERE WERE SOME PROBLEMS. THE ITINERARY WASNT VERY CLEAR, MANY PEOPLE THOUGHT THERE WERE TOURS THE FIRST AND LAST DAY. PEOPLE WERE FRUSTRATED BY SEEING TOO MANY PAGODAS,WHILE BEAUTIFUL, ONE HAD TO TAKE SHOES AND SOCKS OFF.. 5 IN ONE DAY IS JUST OVERKILL. THE TOUR INCLUDED AN AMAZING AMOUNT OF MEALS, AND MANY WERE IN PLACES THAT WE PROBABLY WOULDNT GO INTO, BUT WERE FINE. THE TOUR WAS ALSO WAY TOO BUSY, GETTING IN AT 9PM AND LEAVING IN THE MORNING WAS EXHAUSTING. THE HOTELS WERE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, PEOPLE WANTED TO SPEND SOME TIME IN THEM!! THIS WAS A FIRST COLLETTE TOUR FOR ONE WOMAN WHO SAID SHE WOULD NEVER TAKE ANOTHER ONE.
      • Tour
        ALREADY DONE... THE FAVORITE WAS THE BALLOON RIDE IN BAGAN.

      Hello Patricia,
      Thanks for sharing your feedback about the itinerary and pace of the tour as well as your insight about the accommodations you experienced.  We have passed it along to our product team for review. 
      We appreciate your business and look forward to traveling with you again on a future tour.

      Collette Support
    • collette myanmar trip downgraded, watered down....

      • Service
        Guide didn't show up for initial meeting and was not available until the first day morning!! Hotels were changed/downgraded (without the knowledge of the guide!!) he kept saying that he didn't know. Included food was horrible! But when I ordered and paid from my own pocket I found out how delicious the Myanmar food can be! Visit with the local family was very bad experience. After they started to "mix drinks" (orange syrup/concentrate - with water poured from a "jar") ...after seeing how they washed/cleaned all them bowl/plates in a two gallon pot of cold water outside, many travellers lost appetite. As much as we all appreciated the local family and their hospitality... only few very, very brave travellers dared to drink the mix and eat the food. Dinner at Kalaw hilll lodge was the “most memorable” experience, food was icy cold and after we complained, the server said “it was cold outside..” Hungry and cold we came to our rooms. Room was very, very cold, but there was a "hot-water-bottle” in my bed… (How lucky I was…. I only paid about $500/day for this experience..) There was 3hrs long trip by train that had two classes; cattle class with wooden benches and the "upper-class" with upholstered seats. We were travelling in cattle class on wooden benches, because Colette didn't purchase the “people-class” Guide didn’t have “whispers”, he just talked to whoever was around, and we had the choice, either to run, fight for the position around him to hear what he had to say, or just walk around on our own! There were no washroom stops on 3 –4 hr bus rides!
      • Tour
        Guide didn't show up for initial meeting and was not available until the next day morning!! Hotels were changed/downgraded (without the knowledge of the guide!!) he kept saying that he didn't know. Included food was horrible! But when I ordered and paid from my own pocket I found out how delicious the Myanmar food can be! Visit with the local family was very bad experience. After they started to "mix drinks" (orange syrup/concentrate - with water poured from a "jar") ...after seeing how they washed/cleaned all them bowl/plates in a two gallon pot of cold water outside, many travellers lost appetite. As much as we all appreciated the local family and their hospitality... only few very, very brave travellers dared to drink the mix and eat the food. Dinner at Kalaw hilll lodge was the “most memorable” experience, food was icy cold and after we complained, the server said “it was cold outside..” Hungry and cold we came to our rooms. Room was very, very cold, but there was a "hot-water-bottle” in my bed… (How lucky I was…. I only paid about $500/day for this experience..) There was 3hrs long trip by train that had two classes; cattle class with wooden benches and the "upper-class" with upholstered seats. We were travelling in cattle class on wooden benches, because Colette didn't purchase the “people-class” Guide didn’t have “whispers”, he just talked to whoever was around, and we had the choice, either to run, fight for the position around him to hear what he had to say, or just walk around on our own! There were no washroom stops on 3 –4 hr bus rides!
    • Collette trip to Myanmar subcontracted to Golden Trip problems

      • Service
        TRIP WAS FARMED- OUT/ SUBCONTRACTED TO MYANMAR TRAVEL COMPANY called "golden trip" POOR guide didn't have any idea about Collette.. he said he met ONCE WITH COLLETTE REP!!! he didn't show up for initial meeting!! was not available until the FIRST DAY MORNING!! 24 travellers wondered what was going on??!! when would the trip start?? I PERSONNALY INQUIRED IN HOTEL, CONCEIRGE, etc.. NOBODY KNEW ANYTHING ABOUT COLLETTE!!!!! I E-MAILED COLLETTE TO VACOUVER... I RECEIVED THE REPLY... IT IS 5 AM IN VANCOUVER.. BE PATIENT.... So we went to sleep and hoped that if we wake up early, we might find the Collette guide... WHEN I WOKE UP .. THERE WAS A "welcome" NOTE UNDER THE DOOR!!! Later, in a lobby we were met with our guide.. he apologised.. said there was a mix-up in the .."schedule"..??!!
      • Tour
        Trip was farmed- out/ subcontracted to Myanmar travel company called "GOLDEN TRIP" guide didn't have any idea about Colette.. He said he met once with Colette rep. He didn't show up for initial meeting. was not available until the first day morning. 24 travellers wondered what was going on??!! When would the trip start?? So we went to sleep and hoped that if we wake up early, we might find the Colette guide...when i woke up .. there was a "welcome" note under the door!!! two of the hotels were changed/downgraded (without the knowledge of the guide!!) he kept saying that he didn't know ..food was mediocre - bordering on horrible! there were many "most memorable experiences" : 1/ lunch - visit with the local family. They started to "mix drinks" ( orange syrup/concentrate - with water poured from a "jar").. as much as we all appreciated the local family and their hospitality... only few very brave travellers dared to drink the mix...after we refused the drinks, some "sealed" water bottles appeared...diarrhea can kill the most precious trip memories... 2/ second "most memorable" experience" was the dinner at kalaw hilll lodge! After a long ,long wait, sitting at the empty dinner table, food came icy cold!! after we complained, the answer from the server was memorable: it is cold outside- therefore the meal is cold! and he left....then we called the manager.. after a while he came.. apologised, collected all food and later came back without even questioning whose soup bowl was whose??!! and placed the cold soups on the table.... we didn't complain anymore...went to bed hungry... 3/ hungry and cold we came to our rooms.. it was icey cold!! 7 deg c! no heat!! but there was the "hot-water-bottle in my bed. i have no words to describe the cold night experience.... 4/ there was the (3hrs long) trip by train ... train had two classes... cattle clas with wooden benches and the "upper-class" with upholstered seats.. we sat 3 hrs in cattle class on wooden benches... " Because Colette didn't purchase the upper class" my butt still remembers the "memorable experience"! This was my fourth tour w Colette and the first one without whispers!! Guide just talked to whoever was around, and we had the choice, either to run, compete for the position around him to hear what he had to say.. or.. just walk around on our own! another hi-lite was the boat ride watching the sun-set..All and i mean all other boat riders organized by other travel agencies sipped the champagne while watching the sunset.. Except Colette... what a shame!!

      Hello,
      Thank you for bringing this to our attention.  While we appreciate your comments, clarification is required. Your comment the trip was “farmed-out” is not accurate. The government of Myanmar requires all guiding services be provided only by licensed national companies and respective guides. The guides are available on the start date of the tour. 
      You had purchased a pre-night. Hence why the guide was not at the hotel upon your arrival. The email you refer to having been sent to Collette was actually sent to directly to an employee and your review of her response is misstated. I would be happy to review any and all of your points with you directly if you wish to call. 
      Brett Walker, GM, Collette

      Collette Support
  • Other tours you may enjoy

  • We pick you up and bring you home again when you reserve air with us.

    Learn more about our included sedan service

Collette_Icon_Close Collette_Icon_Minimize
How can we help you today?